Thoughts from an agricultural development gal in Ghana

Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s that wonderful time of year when Canadians stuff themselves with turkey and pumpkin pie: Thanksgiving. Even though I won’t be home to celebrate this year, I wanted to take a few moments to give thanks for the things in my life.

10 Things I’m Thankful for in Canada:

  1. My family
  2. Vegetables
  3. Access to clean water & food, sanitation, infrastructure, etc.
  4. Racial anonymity
  5. Some semblance of gender equality
  6. Really good internet
  7. A developed economy and strong governance
  8. Access to education
  9. Healthcare
  10. Cheesecake

    Thanksgiving last year...

10 Things I’m Thankful for in Ghana:

  1. My Zuo family
  2. Ghanaian hospitality (which is unrivaled around the world, I’m sure!)
  3. My usually-stable health
  4. Having Ben here to work with and support one another
  5. Strong communities
  6. The amazing, dedicated MoFA staff I work with every day
  7. Living life outdoors
  8. Stone lager
  9. The best job in the world
  10. My amazing EWB team-mates!

...and Thanksgiving this year!

I’m so lucky to have loving people in my life, both back in Canada and here in Ghana. This morning I went for the first time in 3 weeks to visit my family in Zuo. I was welcomed by huge smiles and cries of “Pumaaya!” (my Ghanaian name) as I pulled my moto into their yard. It’s such a wonderful feeling to be welcomed into their home, which feels like my home too. A lot happened in those 3 weeks, including the welcoming of a beautiful new baby girl, Anifa, into the family (photo below).

Mariama and baby Anifa

Later today I will be surrounded by different people, my Canadian friends, as we gather at a local restaurant for a Ghanaian Thanksgiving dinner. I am so grateful for all of these people who are here to love and support me, through good times and bad, while I find my way through this Ghanaian life.

3 responses

  1. Alex Joyce

    Happy thanksgiving Erin!!!! I am thankful for your amazing blogs and always making me think.

    October 11, 2010 at 3:38 pm

  2. Lori

    Thanks Erin for this eloquent glimpse into the similarities and differences of Thanksgiving in Ghana and Canada. You remind us there is reason for gratitude wherever we are. I am thankful that you are enjoying your time and feel so much at home in Ghana. I am wondering what food you will eat as you celebrate with friends.
    We thought about you and Ben as we sat around our table last night. Much love to you both and many blessings on your life in Ghana.

    October 11, 2010 at 3:47 pm

  3. Hi Erin,

    We are thankful for you, too – the work that you are doing to share your skills, your positive attitude and approach to life. Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

    Cathy and Len

    October 13, 2010 at 6:13 am

Leave a Reply

